18th IDEI Annual Lecture and Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize 2011: Finance Design and Economic Development, Salle des Illustres : Hôtel de Ville, Toulouse, France, January 12, 2012, 17:00–19:00.


The Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize, created by the city of Toulouse in partnership with the Institut d’Economie Industrielle (IDEI), has been awarded every year since 2005 to a senior economist of international renown whose research combines theoretical and empirical aspects, in the spirit of the late Professor Laffont. The prize winners present their work via an annual IDEI lecture, created by Jean-Jacques Laffont, the IDEI founder, in 1993. These lectures allow these acclaimed economists to present their research on topical economic issues. Since 2005, this annual lecture has been combined with the Jean-Jacques Laffont prize, awarded by the Mairie de Toulouse in honour of the late professor. After Peter A. Diamond in 2005, Daniel L. McFadden in 2006, Stephen A. Ross in 2007, Richard Blundell in 2008, Roger Myerson in 2009, and Robert B. Wilson in 2010, in 2011 it's Robert M. Townsend of the MIT who will receive the Prize from Pierre Cohen, Mayor of Toulouse, on 12th January 2012.

Preceding event

Robert B. Wilson (Nobel Prize 2007), 17th IDEI Annual Conference and Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize 2010: Stringent Criteria for Rational Strategic Behavior, Toulouse, France, November 8, 2010.

Succeeding event

Eric Maskin (Nobel Prize 2007), 19th IDEI Annual Lecture and Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize 2013: Topic in Elections and Mechanism Design, Hôtel de Ville, Toulouse, France, June 6, 2013, 16:30–19:00, room Salle des Illustres.