





# CALL FOR PAPERS – DEADLINE: 20 July 2004

#### \*\*\*\*\*\*

## Conference on

## THE ECONOMICS OF ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATION MARKETS

### Toulouse, October 15-16, 2004

#### \*\*\*\*\*\*

The organizers, Marc Ivaldi, Bruno Jullien, Patrick Rey, Jean Tirole (University of Toulouse) and Elisabeth Dognin (France Telecom), invite you to submit a paper proposal for, or express your interest in attending, the conference on THE ECONOMICS OF ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS, to be held in Toulouse on October 15-16, 2004, and jointly organized by the University of Toulouse and the Institut D'Economie Industrielle, with the support of France Telecom and CEPR.

This conference will present ongoing theoretical and empirical research on telecommunications, Internet and other electronic communication technologies (cable, satellite, ...) as well as discussions of the new challenges and mutations faced by the industry. It will bring together international academic researchers, market participants and regulators.

It will emphasize the following themes:

- o Empirical and theoretical analysis of competition in the telecommunication sector
- The governance and the conduct of regulation in the context of convergence
- Access and interconnection
- o Intellectual property rights, norms and standards
- o Internet, convergence and business models (TV, voice, online media...)
- o Two-sided markets issues (receiver pay principle, platforms competition...)

If you would like to present or discuss a paper, or attend please complete the attached reply form and return to Janet Seabrook (jseabrook@cepr.org, + 00 44 20 7878 2999) before **July 20** (with, if relevant, a copy of your paper).

Travel and accommodation expenses will be covered for all speakers and discussants according to the CEPR travel guidelines (see attached forms). Please indicate on your reply form whether you will be able to cover your own travel costs, or whether you will require funding.

Non-speaker participants are expected to cover their own travel, accommodation and catering costs.

### Scientific committee

M. Armstrong , J. Crémer, J. Farrell, M. Ivaldi, B. Jullien, M. Katz, M. Hellwig, M. Riordan, J. Lerner, P. Rey, J. Tirole, H. Varian.